Damian Ross RHS Athletic Hall of Fame 2008 Inductee

RHS Athletic Hall of Fame

Members of the Ridgewood High School Athletic Hall of Fame are those that have made a lasting impact on the school’s sports program as either student players, coaches, or supporters. Often the student players have continued to influence their chosen sports after high school by ongoing participation in athletics.

Damian Ross, 2008 Inductee

Damian Ross (Class of 1986) made his mark in Ridgewood High School athletics in football and wrestling. As a member of the football team, he was named a First-Team All-NNJIL running back for the 1983, 1984 and 1985 seasons. In 1985, he set the school record for most touchdowns in a seasons (15) and posted the Maroons’ second highest single-season total in rushing yards (1,047).

In his varsity career, Ross rushed for 1,897 yards, and he was selected to play in the North-South All-Star Classic in June of 1986.

Ross went on to continue his football career at Lehigh University in Bethlehem, Pennsylvania. In wrestling, Ross holds the distinction of being the first freshman in the history of the program to make the varsity squad. He was a three-time gold medalist at the Mahwah Holiday Tournament, competing for three years before sitting out his senior year due to an injury he sustained during the football season.

In 1984, Ross was named Ridgewood High School’s Most Outstanding Wrestler, as well as the NNJIL-Bergen Wrestling Sophomore of the Year at 158 pounds. In 1985, he was named to the All-NNJIL First Team and placed fourth in the 158-pound weight class at the state tournament.

After earning the Ridgewood High School Award For Excellence In Athletics in 1986, Ross also went on to continue his wrestling career at Lehigh.

 Download: Banquet-Book-2008.pdf


Patti Auger, Eric Benedict, Eunae Jo, Peter McGinley, Karla Mixon, Clair Nowakowski, 1983 Softball Team, Joe Pedone, Julia Rappa


Carlos Peay, Louis Edward “Eddie” Peay, Kelly Conheeney, Samantha Cermack, Chris Rae, Chelsea Steinberg, Mark Strittmatter, Andrew Clarke, Jim Dee, Phil Ross Sr.


Jeff Yearing


Maureen Greico, Larry Coyle, Jacob Brown, Richard Bennett, Toshiko D’Elia


John Marshall, Jim Bruni, Mark Romeo, Jean Hughes, Chris Van Note, Nancy Hogan, RHS Football Team 1913, Don Taylor, Rachel Grygiel, John Cerf, Paul Tornatore, Michele Marangi, RHS Boys’ Lacrosse 1990-92


Craig Halyard, Tom Flatt, Tricia Pappalardo, Mike Henderson, Kandie Latham, Leigh Jester, Tom Dusel, Roger Sweeney, Linda Zabielski, Patty Capasso, Dennis Sullivan, Nick & Dottie Capasso, Track and Field (Bain-Daley-Oliver Era)


Primo “Duke” DeRochi, Debbie Paul, George Monro, Bill Dunne, Amy Lyons, James Sullivan, Michael Culver, Keith O’Connor, Josh Kauke, Patti Mileski, Mary Ellen Mileski


Kitty Batterson, Henry Blauvelt, Frank L. Bradley, Jr., Lucia Cancelmo, Chris DuFlocq, Renee DuFlon, RHS Girls’ Basketball 1922-1923, Harry Grundy, Jim Jones, Joe LeMay, Jen McDermott, Shannon McGarrigle, Tony Napier, Margaret Niemann, Vince Robertiello (Jamie Roberts), Damian Ross, Mike Springer


Mario Ferraro, Paul Ferraro, Don Haldane, Wendy Hartwig, Tom Hopper, Bob Keino, Frank Mozeleski, Tim Mullen, Jenna Rogers, Donna O’Connell, Carin Cone, Charles Yennie


Paul Arrigoni, Pete Campbell, Doug Cook, Becky Deetz, Otis Grendler, Jodi Hartwig, Gene Links, Debbie O’Connell, Aimee McGuire, Walt Perdue, Tom Simos, Kazbek Tambi, Jack Van Yperen, Bob Whitaker, Margaret Scutro