RHS Athletic Hall of Fame Girls’ 1922-1923 Basketball Team

RHS Athletic Hall of Fame

Members of the Ridgewood High Athletic School Hall of Fame are those that have made a lasting impact on the school’s sports program as either student players, coaches, or supporters. Often the student players have continued to influence their chosen sports after high school by ongoing participation in athletics.

RHS 1922-1923 Girls Basketball Team

The 1922-23 Ridgewood High School girls’ basketball team is the first team to be inducted into the RHS Athletic Hall of Fame. The team was formed in 1919 as the first girls varsity sport offered at RHS. Entering the 1922-23 season, there was some speculation whether the program would be continued. The boys athletic program was just authorized to include soccer and cross country as varsity sports, which gave the boys of the time six sports (football, cross-country, soccer, basketball, baseball, track and field) in which to earn their varsity “Rs” compared to one (basketball) for the girls. Under the direction of faculty member Miss Elizabeth M. Seller, the girls’ basketball team enjoyed a spectacular season with 10 wins, one loss and one tie while capturing the Northern New Jersey Interscholastic League Girls’ Basketball Championship. There was anticipation for this team to succeed. Their accomplishment was a stepping-stone for the time that led to more interscholastic sports teams for girls in the 1920s. The team was written up in the bulletin issued by the State Commissioner of Education and the spring issue of the Arrow quarterly at RHS (1923) was dedicated to its success. The team’s prized “Shield” recognizing the team’s championship can still be seen outside Ridgewood High School’s main gymnasium today.

Download: 2008 Banquet Book!


Patti Auger, Eric Benedict, Eunae Jo, Peter McGinley, Karla Mixon, Clair Nowakowski, 1983 Softball Team, Joe Pedone, Julia Rappa


Carlos Peay, Louis Edward “Eddie” Peay, Kelly Conheeney, Samantha Cermack, Chris Rae, Chelsea Steinberg, Mark Strittmatter, Andrew Clarke, Jim Dee, Phil Ross Sr.


Jeff Yearing


Maureen Greico, Larry Coyle, Jacob Brown, Richard Bennett, Toshiko D’Elia


John Marshall, Jim Bruni, Mark Romeo, Jean Hughes, Chris Van Note, Nancy Hogan, RHS Football Team 1913, Don Taylor, Rachel Grygiel, John Cerf, Paul Tornatore, Michele Marangi, RHS Boys’ Lacrosse 1990-92


Craig Halyard, Tom Flatt, Tricia Pappalardo, Mike Henderson, Kandie Latham, Leigh Jester, Tom Dusel, Roger Sweeney, Linda Zabielski, Patty Capasso, Dennis Sullivan, Nick & Dottie Capasso, Track and Field (Bain-Daley-Oliver Era)


Primo “Duke” DeRochi, Debbie Paul, George Monro, Bill Dunne, Amy Lyons, James Sullivan, Michael Culver, Keith O’Connor, Josh Kauke, Patti Mileski, Mary Ellen Mileski


Kitty Batterson, Henry Blauvelt, Frank L. Bradley, Jr., Lucia Cancelmo, Chris DuFlocq, Renee DuFlon, RHS Girls’ Basketball 1922-1923, Harry Grundy, Jim Jones, Joe LeMay, Jen McDermott, Shannon McGarrigle, Tony Napier, Margaret Niemann, Vince Robertiello (Jamie Roberts), Damian Ross, Mike Springer


Mario Ferraro, Paul Ferraro, Don Haldane, Wendy Hartwig, Tom Hopper, Bob Keino, Frank Mozeleski, Tim Mullen, Jenna Rogers, Donna O’Connell, Carin Cone, Charles Yennie


Paul Arrigoni, Pete Campbell, Doug Cook, Becky Deetz, Otis Grendler, Jodi Hartwig, Gene Links, Debbie O’Connell, Aimee McGuire, Walt Perdue, Tom Simos, Kazbek Tambi, Jack Van Yperen, Bob Whitaker, Margaret Scutro